there's no beast, obviously.
the floor just creaks, obviously.
Network 
March 23rd 2026, 11:05 pm - IAM SO EDGEE GUIZ
shamanicshaymin: Asuka hurrying to meet a deadline on her manga. (Asuka :: I'm Working Here!)
A Pixar musical would be the most irony-poisoned shitstorm possible. We’ve seen how they regard women and LGBTQ people, so there’s no fucking way they’d treat traditional musicals with any respect. Pixar isn’t so much “Not like the other girls” so much as it is “Not like those ICKY girls.”

Newsflash: it’s not “edgy” or “rebellious” to mock musicals when Hollywood has shat on them for decades.

Sidenote: I like Moana, but even when I first saw the part where Moai was all, “If you start singing, I’m gonna throw up,” I wanted to smack him so fucking hard he’d leave a crater in the ground.
March 23rd 2026, 04:34 pm - Short stuff I've liked, first quarter 2026
mrissa: (Default)
 

This is more partial even than usual, because I've had some download problems that I've since fixed. But we can let that filter out to the second quarter; time waits for etc. etc.

This Is Not a Love Poem, Alexandra Dawson (Reckoning)

I Met You On the Train, J. R. Dawson (Uncanny)

The Doorkeepers, A. T. Greenblatt (Uncanny)

Unsettled Nature, Jordan Kurella (Apex)

Straw Gold, Mari Ness (Small Wonders)

No Kings/No Soldiers, A.M. Tuomala (Uncanny)

Blade Through the Heart, Carrie Vaughn (Reactor)

Antediluvian, Rem Wigmore (Reckoning)

March 23rd 2026, 03:48 pm
ashelterofpages: (stock0101)
---
tags:
- habit/Braindump
- habit/Exercise
- habit/Going Outside
- habit/Meds
---
Capybara tangent!

So, it was me, S, and some of her other friends. Everyone got on pretty well, and seemed to have a really good time. I'd met one of the folks before, but not the other two. H and I get along already, but never talk or anything but she knows the other two and they were her friends before they were S's.

The place we went wasn't actually a cafe but rather, a general animal encounter place. We weren't sure how it was going to go because well, those places aren't always run the best, but this one seems really, really great. It's tied to a rescue, and they vet the animals that go to that place, and are very careful with the amount of people that are in the encounter both at once, and throughout the day. They also kept an eye out on the animals and were willing to go "Okay, this little guy is done now so we're going to let him chill out."

So, we all felt really good about that, and are probably going to go back because they have other animals to befriend and stuff like this works a lot better for me and my vision rather than other things.

The two capybaras we met were named Tater Tot (tiny boyyyy), and Augustus (not so tiny boy. XD). They were both friendly with people, and were very food motivated, so we shared much lettuce with them. They're really bristly, which I didn't expect for some reason, and Augustus was very grumpy when he wasn't the center of attention. It was both endearing and kind of funny because Tater Tot was like three times as small as he was, but did not give a fuck.

We also got to meet a baby kangaroo! He was such a good, friendly little fellow and he tried to follow us into the room where the capybaras were. We got to pet him briefly and omg, I had no idea small kangaroos were so soft.

After we left, we stopped at an ice cream place and got some. S and I got a really nice and refreshing lemon ginger thing, and it was such a good choice. So tasty. They had a strawberry balsamic one too, which was...Eh. It really just tasted like mediocre strawberry. S has had something like that before and was like "Oh no, it should be a little different than that."

Then yesterday was like 3 hours of Dragon Age! It was great, I was so pleased! I'm having a blast and K is so kind and sweet. I kind of adore them and I'm so glad my partner is dating them too.

I have not seen more Exorcist, but hopefully that will change soo. Later today should be more Dragon Age though, assuming I'm not driving somewhere when the time rolls around. I'm going to be heading to S's house for some housesitting later today, so I miiiight not be able to do it. We'll see.
March 22nd 2026, 09:06 pm
adore: (footprints in the sand)
Hi guise!! (That's my gender-neutral variation of 'guys' as a catch-all term of endearment). I finished watching the k-drama Knight Flower on [personal profile] china_shop's recommendation and IT WAS SO GOOD.

The heroine is a widow during the old-timey monarchy; her life is extremely restricted and it's actually similar to how widows are treated in my country/culture including in my own family just a couple generations ago. So she was immediately sympathetic to me. She becomes a masked vigilante at night, so that she can give herself something fulfilling to do, and her fight scenes are such fun!

Her love interest is a guy in law enforcement who is supposed to catch her but ends up wanting to protect her identity and aid her, which is DELICIOUS to me. He's so righteous in a non-bureaucratic way, I love it. And when he's jealous he's not scary jealous, he's cute pouty jealous, which is my FAVOURITE. It's a delicious slow burn but they don't even kiss at the end, which gave me the feeling of reading a fic tagged with edging and finding out it's actually orgasm denial. Speaking of fic, I have found a couple of fics in which they purportedly kiss, so I'm going to savour those!

I also binge-watched Season 2 of Deadloch, six episodes in two days. Shoutout to [personal profile] isabrella because I wouldn't have found out a second season was out now if you didn't mention it!

I'm still reblogging Yunho things on Tumblr despite the pain mixed with my usual adoration when he appears on my dashboard. I've weaned myself off an idol before, and forcing it doesn't work, so I'll see how I continue to feel, I guess. Vara talked to me about it, and she said a lot of people who have messy romantic relationships are decent in general/in their other relationships. I see her point, and I think any idol in his place would have done the same (not standing up for his girlfriend in order to protect his career). But I can't excuse him allowing her to think he was going to come back and make it up to her, if he had no intention to make good on those promises. Vara said it's not all on him to give her closure, but at the very least he should be honest with her about breaking up with her. He was neither honest nor kind.

I've been bleeding lightly since the 21st even though I had my moontime on the 8th this month. It's the second month I'm bleeding during my luteal phase. It's a good thing I've got cloth pads for light bleeds because imagine if I had to run through boxes of pads during my heavy periods and then had to use pads again for the irregular bleeds. I told Bella that I'm using one to two pads a day and she said she considers that a normal period because that's how much she bleeds during her period. We laughed mirthlessly about me calling it a 'light bleed'.

I've ordered chasteberry vitex tablets so I'm hoping those will reduce my estrogen dominance. I found out that poongar rice, a traditional rice variety from Tamil Nadu, is called 'women's rice' because it's got the nutrients needed for better menstrual health. I'm planning to start eating it for breakfast. It's got iron, magnesium, zinc and calcium. It's got as much protein as a similar serving of greek yoghurt, so with all the talk of protein in wellness spaces I'm surprised it isn't better known. Traditional and heirloom varieties of rice and millets seem to be pretty nutrient-dense, and I'd like to pop fewer vitamin pills.
March 22nd 2026, 06:47 pm - One Piece Netflix & Project Hail Mary
sunshine304: (TV: One Piece)
I looooved the new One Piece season! They did so well with the new characters and it was awesome to yet again see lots of practical effects where they were possible.
The main crew have such great chemistry and especially Inaki Godoy feels like he was born to be Monkey D Ruffy (sorry, I'm so used to the German names XD). Everyone got moments to shine - Ruffy being reminiscent of Gol D Roger at the beginning and climbing that mountain on Drum, Sanji spending all of Little Garden in his own show completely oblivious what's going on and opening up to Nami about his past, Zoro fighting with his personal Demon Mihawk in Whiskey Peak and basically adopting Chopper at the end, Nami being effortlessly cool throughout and having great interactions with Vivi, and Lysopp rescuing everyone in Little Garden. 

So many cool new characters! They did really well with Chopper and his background story was very affecting. I'm so glad he's being appreciated by the Strawhats and can now explore the world. Vivi was amazing and I loved her! Nico Robin is a queen and she was perfect in every way.
Loooved Mr 3 played by David Dastmalchian, who seems to be typecast for the OTT Weird Guy type of characters. And I get it, he's fantastic at it. Also loved Miss Goldenweek, she was sooo creepy! Tashigi is also a favourite, and she was played as she is supposed to - dorky but competent. Smoker was cool. Miss Wednesday was so psycho and I loved it! Mr 9 was also played to perfection and I actually felt bad for him. 
It was also fun to see Buggy again in the beginning; we got some good moments out of him. 

It's been so many years since I saw the anime but I dimly remembered some stuff, like Laboon having a sad backstory and Mr 8 being from Alabasta as well. And of course that Mr 0 is actually Mr Crocodile. Zor getting his new swords is fucking cool in any version of this story! Also loved the costumes and the vibrant colours if the world asked for it (like, Drum is just sad and grey, can't be helped). Also, I cackled at Lysopp going, "Did everyone here eat a devil's fruit?!" because that's what I thought, too. They always tell us how very rare these things are, but somehow every second character that gets introduced has eaten one. XD

Anyway, I loved this so much! Can't wait for the next season, which incidentally will be the last season I know something about since I stopped watching the anime after the Alabasta arc (mostly because the air date didn't fit my schedule anymore).

*

Project Hail Mary was incredibly gorgeous, funny, and just plain AMAZE AMAZE AMAZE!

I still haven't read the book even though I've wanted to for several years. XD But I've heard that they adapted it very well. Ryan Gosling is such a great protagonist - his Grace is super likeable and you really feel for him. He goes through so many emotions and you're there with him the whole time. His friendship with alien Rocky is so heartwarming and affecting, and I did have a few tears in my eyes several times. Sandra Hüller is also fantastic as mission leader Stratt - she has to make some tough decisions and though I wouldn't call her likeable, her actions are  understandable.

The movie looks gorgeous! Especially the Pedrova scene at Adrian was awe inspiring and needs to be seen on the big screen. There's a lot of humour in this movie, and the last 40 minutes are really thrilling and tense. The score is also beautiful. 

This is a crowd pleaser. I've heard it called "Spielberg-ian" and that's not wrong - there's spectacle, but there's also a lot of heart. It's a movie about friendship, hope, and science saving the world. Lord & Miller yet again have given us a really great movie.

Could I criticise some thing? Eh, perhaps. But I don't wanna.

10/10 for me. 

March 22nd 2026, 05:49 pm - 351 | pokémon shield & digimon ghost game
straightforwardly: a black & white cat twining around a girl's legs; both are outside. (Default)
► This week on Pokémon Shield! I have now obtained the first two gym badges, and am on my way towards the third. Miscellaneous thoughts, in bullet point form: beneath the cut )

► I didn’t get around to mentioning this in my last post, but a couple of weeks ago I finally picked up Digimon Ghost Game again and have been slowly making my way through it! Some of you might remember that I was originally watching it while it was airing back in 2021, but that got interrupted by Funimation’s acquisition of Crunchyroll (and my extreme reluctance to pay for streaming services lol). But I have thought about it yearningly over the years, and one of the big appeals of my giving in and picking up a year’s subscription for Crunchroll was the little voice in my head going, “heyyy, then you could actually finish Ghost Game…”

I didn’t bother to rewatch the episodes that I’d already seen before, instead jumping in at episode 22, and have currently watched through episode 29. Some thoughts! beneath the cut )
March 22nd 2026, 05:51 pm - [series] Centaurworld
malurette: (unicorn)
Title: Centaurworld
By: Megan Nicole Dong
Language: English (+ closed captions)
Type: animation (2D)
Genre: weird fantasy
Length: 2 seasons, 10+8 episodes x25 minutes
(except the last one that one hour long)
Release date: 2021

Where: on Netflix (probably i streamed the 1st season on my laptop; 2nd i downloaded on my phone)

Read more... )

...that was weird. After just season 1 I would have said aweird, even a bad kind of weird; after season 2 however? yeah that's a good kind of weird, actually.
March 21st 2026, 09:00 pm
shamanicshaymin: A teddy bear flops on its belly from its pillow. (Rilakkuma :: Too Tired For This)
Goddammit, I swore I would move on from this book, but I keep having thoughts about it, especially the more I learn about the Brontes' lives. A video I listened to said that we don't like to talk about the most traumatic parts of our lives, let alone keep notes or reminders about them. So fiction is probably the closest and safest avenue in which a person might be able to process that trauma. This is something I can definitely relate with--it hurts thinking about the roughest parts of my life. But when I'm writing about other characters like the LISA cast, a bit of me bleeds into them without me realizing it until later, and that's okay. Like if you asked me to write my autobiography, you'd have to drag me kicking and screaming, but I feel safer in my stories and favorite characters (and OCs in the case of original writing)

I think Wuthering Heights disturbs me so much because it's abuse distilled to its very core. The hopelessness, the claustrophobia, how inescapable it seems. It's raw, honest, and cold. All this abuse and misery happens in an isolated place, but the biggest fear is that the outside world looks in, but instead of reacting in horror and trying to put a stop to it, they nod and even approve of what's happening. They think it's normal, acceptable, even good. It's the ugliest aspects of Victorian society, and naturally, it's repulsed by looking at a mirror of itself. That can't be the way it really looks! They're too prim and proper for that! But can one blame the author's "sick imagination" if those are things the author experienced herself? Things she has seen and witnessed and can't scrub from her psyche? And honestly, is society that different now? Today it commits the same sins and refuses to take responsibility as ever. Cruelty is the norm. Victims deserve it. Evil exists because of skin tones, class, and lack of/the wrong religion. It can't be cultivated. It's never our fault. We are Christian. We are Pure.

The mainstream doesn't want to register the abuse, the pain. So it turns to Cathy and Heathcliff's love story instead. It's only another tale of star-crossed lovers, they say. They don't recognize the toxicity and obsession in their relationship because they've been conditioned to believe that "true love" is like this. They don't think any deeper why that relationship might be forbidden, why Heathcliff and Cathy are as wild as they are. It's safer to believe they're tragic lovers who don't have a pile of bodies at their feet. Hell, I'm not going to pretend I understand them, because I clearly don't. I think we're not supposed to like or support them, but understand why they act the way they do. There's a theory that says that Heathcliff represents the "wild" and "ugly" parts of Emily, but also everything that she wishes she could be. Sort of like how some of us relate to fictional villains because they're so powerful and charismatic--traits that we as people pushed around by society and our own lives, wish we could have for ourselves. In the midst of purity culture where people are quick to judge, of course we have to explain that we don't want to be 100% like the villain or endorse everything he does. But god, imagine if after being mistreated for so long, we could do what we wanted and speak our minds without consequences. What if we can be fucked up and wrong and not have to be a role model to everyone who shares our minority status? Our wicked overlords and privileged politicians can be as despicable as they want, so why can't we? I wonder if this is that "wildness" that Emily is talking about. I don't know.

I don't know what I'm typing anymore. I think being trapped in this cursed administration is getting to me. I look at my rats and see the love in their eyes, and I'm reminded of Wuthering Heights and how there's people in real life who want to see that love and light snuffed out, leaving only misery, cruelty, and emptiness. Fuck.
March 21st 2026, 08:45 pm
shamanicshaymin: Kinger philosophizing about something. (Kinger :: Did I Say That?)
That latest Digital Circus episode, huh?

I've been pacing back and forth for episode 8. Now I'm pacing back and forth for June 19th. This show is so good aaaaaaaaaa
March 21st 2026, 10:53 am - Fic - Resident Evil Requiem - Victor/Leon
nanslice: (Default)
I wrote a fic!

Something in the Air
Victor Gideon/Leon Kennedy
Rated: M
Content Warning: The big three are non-con, sex pollen, power imbalance. See the tags for the full list of CW. <3

I'm SO HAPPY guys, I haven't written fic in so long and certainly not with this enthusiasm! I have two more fics about halfway finished, and a lil plot summary (there is no real plot) for a fourth one. It's been a VERY long time since I've been like this. It's SUCH a nice place to back in. Especially for written porn, gosh. Apparently all I needed with a horrible dead lizard man. <3 Although not everything I'm working on features Victor Gideon. Just...half of it. XD;

I also went through and locked all of my fic to AO3 logged in users only. I had it so only logged in users could comment but then decided, nah. If you can't comment, you don't get to read! Sorry, not sorry, normies who go to consume fic on A03, don't comment, but then talk about it on tiktok or whatever. :P

(fandom has become so big, so present, so known, and I hate it hate it hate it)

EDIT: And a fifth one! \o/!
March 21st 2026, 11:10 am - Fingers say what?
brithistorian: (Default)

I talk with my hands. This amuses A. to no end: She's the one who's part-Italian and yet I'm the one who can't talk without gesticulating. Whether I'm talking about sending an email (fingers typing on a keyboard), sending a fax (hands palm-down, fingertips guiding the paper into the machine), or chopping vegetables (left hand moving the knife up and down, right hand advancing the the vegetable toward it), I don't even think about it, but my hands accompany my words.

Yesterday, we got some small cucumbers and I was talking about using some of them to make oi muchim (a Korean cucumber salad with thinly sliced cucumbers in a gochugaru-seasoned dressing). I was talking about slicing the cucumbers, and she looked at my hands and asked "What's that?" I looked at my hands and saw that my right hand was flat, palm-up, while my left hand was palm-down, in a claw grip, moving back and forth over my right hand. And then it hit me: When I make oi muchim, I don't slice the cucumbers with a knife. I slice them with a mandoline. And without even thinking about it, my hands were doing to the correct motion for the action I would be doing.

I don't even notice that I'm doing this until she points it out, so I don't know if I could stop it if I tried.

March 21st 2026, 10:13 am
ashelterofpages: (birds13)
So, a while back S learned that there was a capybara cafe in our area. We always meant to go, but never got around to doing it for various reasons. Then, when she started making real steps toward moving, we decided to go when she got an interview for a job.

Well, that happened pretty damn quick. Then again, so did everything with her moving. She signs for a house at the end of the month.

Anyway, today is capybara day! :D We're going this afternoon and I'm so excited!

I might have pictures, but I'm not entirely sure on that. However, because I was thinking about images, I did get fresh tattoo pictures!

Tattoo pictures! )
March 21st 2026, 04:56 am - :(
rogueslayer452: (Inara Serra. Mourning.)
Nicholas Brendon passed away.

This is honestly devastating. It's sad knowing how deeply troubled his life had become. I don't always pay that close attention to the personal lives of actors, however every time I heard about him over the years it was something revolving around his constant struggle with addiction which got him into various legal issues, and I kept on hoping that somehow he'd get himself better and back on the right track. I also recently learned about his health problems, too. It's just so sad and tragic.

Aside from his small roles on shows like Criminal Minds, I mostly only knew him from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and, while Xander Harris wasn't my favorite character, Nicholas did fantastically in the role, providing much needed comedic relief along with emotional moments with the rest of the Scoobies.

Rest in peace.
March 21st 2026, 02:48 am - Yay, journaling sites.
rogueslayer452: (Veronica Mars.)
Taken from [community profile] thefridayfive:

LiveJournal and Dreamwidth )

Bonus Questions:

06. If you have a LiveJournal, are you currently able to access it?
Well, I obviously had one, but once transferring all my entries to DW I deleted my LJ account. This was thankfully before all the shit that recently went down over there.

07. Do you have any information about why one would be unable to access LiveJournal?
I talked about it some while ago along with links with further information, but to put it simply the current owners are trying to divide its userbase and gatekeep the site. Some might still have access to their journals while others not, I haven't seen anything more on what is going on since this came to light, regardless though it's been advised for anyone who still has access to their LJ accounts there to save/transfer their journals and communities as soon as possible.
March 20th 2026, 03:57 pm - Fanvid Friday: Nanno (Girl From Nowhere)
rogueslayer452: (Katherine Pierce. Vampire.)
Hello. I'm Nanno. Nice to meet you. )

My Comments: My recent obsession has been Girl From Nowhere, specifically our delightfully unhinged main character Nanno. I've been looking at various fanvids being made, and these two stood out to me, with their respective song choices and editing. The first (which captions are to be turned on for dialogue) mostly is around the first season and just her various revenge plots, while the second just centers around Nanno at her best: being brilliantly deranged in the best way. No spoilers are given in either, just Nanno being Nanno, and just a glimpse as to why I enjoy the character so much.